New Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards

Sunday 28th October, 2012

New Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2012) are now available for education providers preparing to lodge applications with the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council in 2013.

The Standards apply to the accreditation of education programs leading to entry onto the national register as a registered nurse in Australia. They have been updated in light of the move to the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme in July 2010.

The Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2012) are available on ANMAC’s website along with an updated application pack.

Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2012)

They are are nationally consistent, clearly articulated and reflect contemporary evidence and practice. The Standards have been updated in light of the move to the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (July 2010).

These revised Standards build on the platform of the existing ones (first published in February 2009) and in many ways are not markedly different from these.

Any further information required to supplement the statements of Standards and Criteria is included in the application pack and in the list of published documents that is essential reading for education providers. Because the changes are self-explanatory, there was no need to produce a separate Evidence Guide to accompany the revised standards.

Important implementation dates

The official introduction date for the revised Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2012) is 1 January 2013; however they are available to education providers now because of the lead-time involved in having programs accredited. Therefore:

  • from 1 December 2012 ANMAC will accept applications using the revised standards and application pack
  • after 1 July 2013 ANMAC will not accept applications using the old Registered Nurse Accreditation Standards (2009) and old application pack.

Official approval

  • ANMAC’s Board endorsed the revised standards at its 12 June 2012 meeting.
  • The standards have since been approved by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.

Key national role of standards

The 2012 RN Accreditation Standards play a key role in ensuring ANMAC continues to meet the objectives of the National Law in:

  • protecting the community by ensuring that only nurses who are ‘suitably trained and qualified to practise in a competent and ethical manner are registered’ to practice in Australia
  • facilitating ‘the provision of high quality education and training’ for registered nurses
  • contributing to the ‘continuous development of a flexible responsive and sustainable Australian health workforce and to enable innovation in the education of, and service delivery by, health practitioners’.

Extensive consultation
To develop the revised standards, ANMAC consulted extensively with all key stakeholders, starting in October 2011. This included open and transparent consultations with the nursing profession, education providers, other key stakeholders and other interested parties.

More information